Homemade KFC!

OK, I should be working (in fact, there are a lot of things I should be doing) but what I *want* to do is tell you all about what I had for dinner last night. This recipe comes by the way of my fabby foodie friend Mo (of the Amazing Recipes – that’s her full title … in fact, remind me one day to tell you about Marvelous Mo’s Magnificent Meringues – they are to die for). Anyhoo, back to the Colonel… I will prefix this post with the statement that of course I know junk food is extremely bad for us and that some of it hardly counts as actual food even BUT we all have a weakness and this is mine.  The occasional Zinger Tower burger!  So sue me 😉

Before I met hubby, I really wasn’t a hugely adventurous eater – in fact I had been a very picky child. Hungry hubby was brought up on a very different range of foods to me and one day, we were looking for somewhere to go to lunch. I must have been 19 still at the time and my chosen poison at McDonalds was a McChicken Sandwich. I had never been to KFC before, was a tad suspicious even but as The Hungry One said, “if you like chicken, you have to try The Colonel”. As it was early days for us, I thought I’d try and impress him with my willingness to try new things so on we went. A very guilty pleasure was born! Oh my that fillet burger was goooood! It may be beyond naughty but the allure of fried chicken is hard to pass up. KFC is still our guilty pleasure, one I limit to a very rare treat. But now, thank you to the Marvelous Mo, we can have KFC whenever we like – HOMEMADE! (ergo, healthy). Here’s what you’ll need – no deep fat frier required!: Gosh, I’ve made a hole in that jar haven’t I?

Fear not faithful readers! I shall divulge the secret blend of eleven herbs and spices!

I do recommend the extra step of poaching the chicken pieces in milk first as it makes them extra tender and gives you a chance to get an extra layer of seasoning into them.

This does require getting a fair few bowls dirty but I promise you it is worth it.  And it’s so much better for you than getting the deep fat frier out – again, I promise this tastes so good, you won’t miss it. I believe it is better than KFC itself without a question.

I like to mix the (not so secret) spice blend with some cornmeal/polentafor extra crunch. I use about half as much polenta as I use of the finished spice blend. For 6-8 chicken portions, I would use about ½cup of the spice blend to half as much polenta.

Double dipping to get an extra crisp coating is highly recommended.  You may find you need slightly more or less than the amounts stated but this isn’t an exact science.  It will depend on both your preferences of amount of coating and also how big the pieces or chicken breasts you use are to some extent. See how crisp it comes out despite using next to nothing extra oil?  You have to give this a try and wow your friends and family alike!

I’ve won best wife awards for making Hungry Hubby a “Bargain Bucket” to nibble on as he watches football, plays computr games with his friends and also for making homemade Zinger burgers on many an occasion since discovering this recipe.  For me, my favourite is definitely the burger but I leave it up to you to decide which you prefer.  Apologies for any going up in trouser size after reading this blog post although, they will be considerably smaller for making KFC at home rather than visitng the Colonel…

image

Thank you Mo for another brilliant recipe and one which keeps us out of dirty, nasty take out joints 😉

image

Here it is readers – the secret recipe itself.  Make up a batch and keep it in an air tight jar ready to create “fried” chicken portions or chicken breast Zinger style burgers at a drop of a hat!

KFC Coating Secret Recipe


banner
Credit – Marvellous Mo, my fab foodie friend!

Ingredients

  • 2 cups flour (approx 250g)
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp dried thyme
  • 1/2 tsp dried basil
  • 1/2 tsp dried oregano
  • 1 tbsp celery salt
  • 1 tbsp cracked black pepper
  • 1 tbsp mustard powder
  • 2 tbsp paprika (not the smoked stuff)
  • 2 tsp garlic salt
  • 1 tsp ground ginger
  • 1 tsp chilli powder (optional but recommended for that “Zinger” vibe)

Method

  1. Whisk ingredients together then store in an airtight jar until needed It should last as long as the minimum use by date on your ingredients.  That’s all there is to it!

To cook chicken portions or burgers

Ingredients

  • Bone-in, skin-on chicken portions or skinless or boneless chicken breasts if making burgers
  • Plain flour (to toss the chicken in)
  • The Secret Blend of Herbs and Spices as above
  • 1-2 beaten eggs
  • Fine cornmeal (optional)
  • Milk, a bay leaf plus some salt and pepper (if making KFC portions)
  • Oil spray or a small amount of butter to dot the pieces with

Method for Cooking Chicken Pieces or Burgers

  1. If cooking bone in chicken portions, put your portions in a large saucepan with the bay leaf and a generous seasoning of salt and pepper then cover with milk.
  2. Bring to the boil then reduce to a simmer for 10-15 minutes until just cooked through.
  3. Drain well in a colander and then dry off with paper towels.
  4. In one shallow bowl place some plain flour to toss the chicken pieces in as their first coating.  I use around 100g flour for 6-8 pieces of chicken but just go by eye.
  5. In a second shallow dish, beat 1-2 eggs then toss your flour coated chicken in this.
  6. In a third bowl, place about 100g (half a cup-ish) of the blend of flour, herbs and spices and if you fancy an extra crunchy coating, add a few tablespoons of fine cornmeal.  I love to do it this way.
  7. If you want an extra thick coating, at this stage dip back into the eggs then into the coating one last time.
  8. Place on a greaseproof or foil lined baking tray and spray liberally with oil or dot with a small knob of butter per chicken portion.  Bake in an oven preheated to 180°C for 25-30 minutes by which time the chicken will be piping hot through to the bone and the coating will have crispened up nicely.  Turn once half way through cooking spraying with more oil or butter if liked.
  9. To make burgers use skinless, boneless chicken breasts and do NOT poach them in milk first. I add a teaspoon or so of chilli powder to the spice mix for that Zinger, spicy vibe.
  10. Simply coat in flour, dip in the egg then the coating as above and either bake for 20-25 minutes or fry in a frying pan for approximately 8-10 minutes turning once until cooked through and no pink remaining. I must admit to prefering to shallow fry in a little rapeseed oil if making burgers as they have a lot less fat than the bone-in, skin on portions.
  11. Serve burgers with a slice of cheese melted on top, salsa, mayonnaise and a hash brown (homemade if you have the time) a la the Colonel himself 😉
Recipe method by Jo Blogs Jo Bakes of www.joblogsjobakes.wordpress.com

49 thoughts on “Homemade KFC!

    • I really do Mo – it made Neil so happy the day I secretly made him zinger tower burgers using your recipes – the only thing I didn’t make was the mayo! It’s brilliant that you can get the famous taste and texture without all the grease. Genius!

      Like

  1. Oh Let ME AT ‘EM!!!! Am starving and this is SO not helping. I have to pick up my soon in half an hour nd that means driving by the KFC here. I will be strong, I will be strong..i will..errh Will…emmm….. 🙂

    Like

    • Lol MrsPP – so what was the verdict? Did you give in?! Or did you only sort of give in and go buy the ingredients to make your own KFC for tea? 😉

      Like

      • No I resisted, but only for the fact that I didnt want to be sick with it after to turn me off this recipe!!! When I find decent chicken you can be sure that i will be making this!!

        Like

        • Ah yes, I’d forgotten the Doha chooky wasn’t upto par! How sad for you MrsPP, Hungry Hubby would cry if he had to leave anywhere with no chicken!

          Like

  2. Great post, Jodie! Didn’t Maureen indeed let us in on a gpod thing with this recipe??! I used to also frequent KFC a bit as a kid – I particularly loved the Hot ‘n Spicy blend! But as I got older, I slowly turned away from fast food. Maureen’s blend is great, though I like to add a bit more salt. That’s interesting to know that you can also get good results from baking instead of frying – might have to try that one day!

    Like

    • I just love the baking element too ELB – I would never, ever deep fry anything myself (after my churros experiment!) again yet with Mo’s recipe, me and hubs can enjoy the taste of our naughty little occasional indulgence more often, knowing exactly what went into it.

      Like

  3. I’ve still never been to a KFC, ever, despite a very lovely one being five mins from my house but you know the urge just isn’t there to go to a fast food take out joint. I mean why would I when i could turn out something as glorgious as what have in my own home. Stunning.

    Do you leave the skin on or off after poaching?

    Like

    • Well each to their own Julia. Food for me is about everything in all it’s forms in balance with one another. Life is far too short for us to eat just one type of food, it’s just a case of evening things out elsewhere. Plus this post has had more hits so far today than any of my others so far so I know I’m not alone!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Tee hee, another one bites the dust! I really think you don’t lose one iota of flavour by baking this chooky beauties, plus I’m nit wracked with guilt after eating them like with the namesake fast food version. You have to make Zinger Towers one day too – latkes substitute very nicely for a homemade hash brown 🙂

      Like

  4. Guess what’s on the menu here tonight……..? Yep you guessed it, it will satisfy my craving for chicken & the guilty pleasure of KFC. You see my OH doesn’t eat chicken, I know I know he’s a total heathen! 😉

    Like

    • I hope you enjoyed it Jane! We’re having it again tomorrow night. My hubs will be happy to hear there’s one less person to eat his share of the world’s chicken 😉

      Like

  5. Hi Jo, thanks for sharing! I can’t wait to try this recipe. I just have one quick question… when you describe the conveyor belt above you have seasoned flour, egg and then the polenta and secret blend mix… is that right? If so, what exactly is the flour seasoned with? Cheers!

    Like

    • Well actually Alex you have two choices – you can either use plain flour with some salt and pepper added (hence “seasoned” flour) or you can just use the polenta+spice mix twice. Lately I’ve dipped in egg, then the polenta-secret blend mix then repeated it again. It gives an extra crunch to the coating and ensures the chicken is well covered with it. Enjoy your naughty dinner made healthy! 😀

      Like

  6. Thanks so much Jo… you have made my day with this recipe… can’t wait to try it out! So nice of you to share 🙂

    Like

  7. Its a complicated method, I have simplified it
    1. Get bonless chicken breast (as much u require)
    2. cut into 1/2 cm thick slices, merinat in in Vinegar, Salt and Garlic pest for one hour
    3. Mix plain flour, white pepper powder, and baking powder (one teaspoon baking powder / Lb flour and papper to test)
    4. Gat one slice of marinated chicken with twig and move to extra marination drain down, then keep this slice on the top of flour and role on and let the flour to cover chicken with a thin layer and again move to extara flour away
    5 Repeat and then deep fry it on a moderate heat until golden.
    This chicken tests like A famous burger chain’s Zimger Burger.

    Like

  8. wow, that is mega! I googled to find the Dan Lepard recipe again for someone and found this as first on Google. Great change on your Blog Jodie! And this is always a great recipe!

    Like

    • Lol, this is my most popular recipe Ann – it’s always at the top of my reader stats, that’s probably why. Makes me giggle to think Jo Blogs Jo Bakes is synonymous with KFC now X-D

      Like

  9. Pingback: Jo Blogs Jo Bakes

  10. Seriously? You have a jar of spice mix marked KFC spice blend and you made Zinger burgers?? May I say that I’m officially in love with you?

    Like

  11. Pingback: My Favourite KitchenCraft Kit – Tortillas! | Jo Blogs Jo Bakes

  12. I’ve heard so many good things about this recipe, I love Zinger burgers and I’ve never tried this recipe!? It looks absolutely scrumdiddlyumptious. 😀

    Like

  13. Well, after my Sunday morning mad trail around three of my towns supermarkets, and we’ve only got three, I finally managed to get polenta in the third, so I’m all equipped and ready to try these this evening. My hub, myself and daughter love KFC too much, and so are really excited about your recipe I’ve found. Will let you know what we think in the morning, though I’m pretty confident. 🙂
    Oh and this afternoon, we are baking Raspberry Ripple Muffins, yum xx

    Like

  14. The chicken fillet burgers were LUSH!! Perfectly like KFC. The coating recipe is just spot on, and there is loads to store in a jar ready for next week, thank you, will be having those again. Didn’t get to try the muffins today because, well, the sun came out, and as we don’t see it that often, my garden was calling me 🙂 Will give them a go in the morning. Xx

    Like

  15. I know you will love this. Yesterday I road tested your secret herbs and spices blend on a rather huge batch of oven fried buttermilk chicken drumsticks to feed my son’s rowing eight. Devoured with gusto and voted so much better than KFC. As my son put it – all the flavour without the grease. Oh and I aded some polenta to my flour mix – it really amped up the crunch factor.

    Like

  16. Really enjoyed reading this blog Jo. Made this tonight and have to say it was really tasty. However……. personally I don’t think it tasted anything like kfc. Great spice mix though that I would certainly use again.

    Liked by 1 person

So what do you think...?